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State Finance Unit 

Purchasing Threshold for 2024-2025 

Ark. Code Ann. § 6-21-304 requires the Commissioner of Elementary and Secondary Education 
to adjust the purchasing threshold for bidding amounts under Ark. Code Ann. § 6-21-304(a)(1)(A) 
by the percentage change in the Consumer Price Index (CPI) for All Urban Consumers or its 
successor.  This adjustment shall be done by July 1 of each year.  

The increase in the CPI for this category during the 12-month period ending April 2024 was 3.36%. 
Statute allows the final amount as adjusted under subdivision (a)(1)(B)(i) to be rounded up to the 
nearest one hundred dollars. Therefore, the purchasing threshold for bidding under Ark. Code 
Ann. § 6-21-304 will increase from $24,800 to $25,700 for the 2024-2025 school year. 

 See below for calculation: 

Purchasing threshold 
for bidding under Ark. 
Code. § 6-21-304 

CPI – All Urban 
Consumers 

Percentage Change 
for the 12 month 
period  

2023-2024 $24,800 $297.966 7.16% 
2024-2025 $25,700 $307.986 3.36% 

While the legislation does not provide a specific source for the CPI data, the Arkansas Department 
of Education (ADE) recognizes the Bureau of Labor Statistics’ as a valid source of CPI data.  

The CPI data used for the percentage increase calculation is found at https://data.bls.gov/cgi-
bin/surveymost?bls. 

Under “Price Indexes”, choose CPI for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U) 1982-84=100 – 
CUUR0000SA0.  Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on “Retrieve Data”. 

Please note that, if your district sets a lower threshold in policy, you must adhere to the 
district’s more restrictive policy.  Additionally, for purchases using federal funds, you 
must consult federal procurement law and use the more restrictive threshold.  

Primary Contact Information: Anita Freer 
Email: Anita.Freer@ade.arkansas.gov 
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Classified Minimum Wage for 2021-2025 

Arkansas Code Annotated § 6-17-2203 requires school districts to increase the minimum hourly 
rate paid to full-time classified school employees by a percentage equal to the percentage 
increase of the Consumer Price Index (CPI).  The result is the new minimum hourly rate to be 
paid to all full-time classified school employees.  The legislation does not provide a specific source 
for the CPI data.  The Arkansas Department of Education (ADE) recognizes the Bureau of Labor 
Statistics' website as a valid source of CPI data: http://www.bls.gov. 

CPI data used for the percentage increase calculation is found at https://data.bls.gov/cgi-
bin/surveymost?bls.  Check the box on the screen under “Price Indexes” that is labeled "CPI for 
Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers (CPI-W), 1982-84=100-CWUR0000SA0," then scroll 
to the bottom of the page and click on the button labeled "Retrieve Data".  

The data on this page was used to calculate that the CPI for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical 
Workers increased by 3.16% from the twelve-month average of May 2022 through April 2023 to 
the twelve-month average of May 2023 through April 2024.  The minimum hourly rate for the 
2023-2024 school year was $10.11.  The established increase for 2024-2025 is 3.16% or $0.32 
per hour, which results in the new minimum rate of $10.43 per hour.   

The new classified employee minimum wage calculated for school year 2024-2025 is $10.43 
per hour; however, the Arkansas minimum wage is $11.00 per hour.  Because the state 
minimum wage is more than the calculated CPI rate, use the state minimum wage for 
classified employees. 

 

Primary Contact Information: Anita Freer 
Email: Anita.Freer@ade.arkansas.gov 
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Public School Employee Health Insurance Contribution Rate Update for 2024-2025 
Calendar Years  

 
Pursuant to A.C.A. § 6-17-1117, every school district shall pay the monthly health insurance 
per-participant contribution rate established by the House Committee on Education and the 
Senate Committee on Education through the biennial adequacy review process. The minimum 
monthly contribution rate for calendar years 2024 and 2025 shall remain at $234.50 per 
participant.  

Primary Contact Information: Anita Freer 
Email: Anita.Freer@ade.arkansas.gov 
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Duplicate Enrollment Website and Audit Procedures for Cycle 6 – Deadline to Respond is 
May 31, 2024 

The Arkansas Department of Education (ADE) Duplicate Enrollment Audit website is open as of 
Wednesday, May 15, 2024, for resolving enrollment issues with the school districts submitted 
Cycle 6 data. The website allows districts to review students listed as simultaneously enrolled in 
another school and respond to questions that confirm to the Arkansas Department of Education 
(ADE)that corrections have been entered in the APSCN Student Management System. 

The instructions are attached to this memo. 

Again, the data upload for Cycle 6 has been completed and the website can now be accessed at 
ADE Data Center - Home (arkansas.gov) 

The deadline to enter the corrections and respond is Friday, May 31, 2024.  Please read the rest 
of this memo before accessing and entering any data on the website. 

Anyone in the school with a current TRIAND ID, password, and access rights has the ability to 
login to the website and respond. However, it would be beneficial to designate only one person to 
enter data on the website. If you are unable to view the school's data, your access rights may 
have been changed. If this occurs, call Angel Peugh, Data Quality and Management, at 501-682-
5191 or email ade.triand@ade.arkansas.gov. 

IMPORTANT NOTES: 

1. Once the designated school representative logs onto the website, the school's students 
simultaneously enrolled in another school will appear on a list. If there are no students 
simultaneously enrolled in another school, there will be no data to review and there is no need to 
enter data or respond to the audit. 

2. PLEASE USE THE "OTHER CORRECTIVE ACTION TAKEN" COMMENT BOX TO ADD ANY 
ADDITIONAL EXPLANATION OF THE DUPLICATION AND/OR CORRECTION THAT COULD 
AID THE ADE IN UNDERSTANDING AND RESOLVING THE ISSUE. 

3. If a correction is made to the Duplicate Enrollment Audit website, the same correction MUST 
be made in the APSCN (eSchoolPlus) software. It will also be necessary to resubmit one or more 
cycle reports if a correction is entered in APSCN that affects a prior quarter Average Daily 
Membership (ADM) count. If you need assistance with this, please contact the APSCN Student 
Help Desk at 800-435-7989. 

4. IMPORTANT: Make certain to enter an email address so you can be contacted if more 
information is needed. Always include the school's name in the subject line when sending emails. 

The ADE will export the data from the website, review the information submitted, and contact only 
those whose submitted data does not resolve the conflicting enrollment information. You should 
print copies of the completed audit form for your records. 

6. The 10-day Rule: Ark. Code Ann. § 6-18-213(f)(1) states that any student absent from daily 
attendance for more than ten (10) consecutive school days shall be dismissed or dropped from 
the attendance records of the school, school district, or open enrollment charter school. This is 
for cases when a student is absent for ten (10) consecutive days and is unaccounted for or cannot 
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be contacted. The student should NOT be dropped if the student is absent due to illness and will 
be returning to class. If notification is later received of the student's enrollment in another school 
the withdrawal date should be changed to match (or the day before) the enrollment date in the 
new school. Otherwise, if a student is absent (and unaccounted for) for ten (10) consecutive days, 
the withdrawal date should be the eleventh day of absence. HOWEVER, the ten (10) day rule is 
different for the beginning of a semester. If a student is absent and unaccounted for the first ten 
days of a semester, the withdrawal date must be the first day of 

the semester. 

7. If the student attended the school during the semester but later transfers to another school, the 
student drop date should be the day after the last day attended and cannot be after the date the 
student enrolls in the new school. The date of withdrawal in the 

previous school must be equal to or before the date of enrollment in the new school. Withdrawal 
dates do not count in the 

calculation of Average Daily Membership (ADM). 

8. Per Ark. Code Ann. § 6-80-107, Arkansas schools are required to use the electronic transcript 
system. The ADE provides this system through TRIAND, and it automatically sends an email to 
the former school indicating the date the student enrolled in the new school. This serves as official 
notification; and therefore, the withdrawal date in the previous school must be equal to, or before, 
the enrollment date in the new school. 

9. To alleviate the duplicate enrollment issue involving twins, the twin flag within TRIAND MUST 
be set to "True". 

 

Primary Contact Information: Tammi Rickert 
Phone Number: 501-682-9036 Email: Tammi.Rickert@ade.arkansas.gov 
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2023- 2024 Statewide Assessment Report 

The Division of Elementary & Secondary Education (DESE), Fiscal & Administrative Service 
Division is submitting the Statewide Assessment Report for taxes payable in 2024. The report is 
posted on the DESE website at: 
 
https://dese.ade.arkansas.gov/Offices/fiscal-and-administrative-services/publication-and-
reports/assessment-and-pullback-reports 
 
The assessment data is submitted by each county official on or before March 15 each year in 
compliance with A.C.A. §6-20-2202(g)(1). This report will be used in the state foundation funding 
calculation for 2024-2025. The millage data is from the annual millage election held during 
calendar year 2023, for taxes payable in calendar year 2024.  
 
 
Primary Contact Information: Patricia Monterroso 
Phone Number: 501-682-4485 Email: Patricia.Monterroso@ade.arkansas.gov 
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2023 Millage Report 

The Division of Elementary & Secondary Education (DESE) has completed the 2023 Millage 
Report.  The millage report is available on the DESE website at: 

https://dese.ade.arkansas.gov/Offices/fiscal-and-administrative-services/publication-and-
reports/millage-reports 

The report provides calendar year 2023 voted millage rates for taxes collectible in calendar year 
2024 and includes millage rollbacks. The county clerk of the county in which the school district is 
administered provides the DESE a certified copy of the election results along with a copy of the 
ballot. The Assessment Coordination Department is the source for rollback of millage rates. The 
data from the 2023 Millage Report will be used in the calculation of school funding for fiscal year 
2024-2025. 

Primary Contact Information: Patricia Monterroso 
Phone Number: 501-682-4485 Email: Patricia.Monterroso@ade.arkansas.gov 
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